Categories
Uncategorized

Twisted Sisters by Harvey Bastard and Candle Phillips

I went into this book not knowing what to expect. All I knew was that if I could handle another book I’d read by this publisher, then I could handle this one. Perfect set up!

Twisted Sisters is a book of two gruesome stories by two separate authors. But the theme surrounding the church is the same.

The first story, Sister Malestrom is called in to help save a girl who has been possessed. She uses traditional methods and not so traditional methods during her attempt at exorcism. This story is merciless, so be ready to squirm and hold on to your hat for this one!

The second story is Penance must be paid by a priest who uses his authority in the church to manipulate his underlings to fulfill his sexual and emotional desires. A new nun has joined his parish and he sees a perfect opportunity to exact his will upon her. How many skeletons do you think are in his closet? This story shocked me all the way to the end. I had my hand over my open mouth while I read it. It is ruthless, cunning and blew my mind! I loved it!

These stories are impactful and powerful. Growing up in the Catholic Church, these were forbidden subjects that were not talked about. I’m glad these authors were willing to push boundaries and overstep that invisible, understood line to bring forth such subjects that for some are still too sensitive to discuss. Bravo Harvey Bastard and Candle Phillips!! Go get this book! It’s a quick read and a page turner, although you may need to catch your breath after the first story, then continue on!

By gnomie1227

RN Clinical Quality Supervisor by day and beta/proof reader/reviewer in my spare time. I also cross post reviews on my FaceBook blog @thevoraciousgnome, Goodreads, Bookbub, Twitter, Godless, Instagram and Amazon.

Leave a comment